New York, 1895
We call particular attention to the work of the estimable women who conduct the Children's Home at Mineola. A synopsis of the annual report of the board of managers is printed on the first page of this paper, but it inadequately conveys to the mind of the reader the scope and importance of the work of the Home. A pamphlet embodying all the details of management will be cheerfully forwarded to any person by Mrs. Charles J. Stewart of Jamaica.
The Home is the best charity established in this county. Nothing appeals so strongly to the heart as the sufferings that helpless children in unfortunate circumstances are subjected to. The home furnishes shelter, food, clothing, a limited education, and training in useful handicraft to children that have no home, no parents, and who would otherwise have to be thrust into a poor house under pauper surroundings, or be boarded out in families under wretched and often immoral surroundings. The Home lifts up the minds of the children to planes of virtue, cleanliness, usefulness and good citizenship. It deserves the best support the public can give it. It would be a splendid thing if every household in the county would conclude to contribute annually $5 to its support.
—————
The Standard, in its opposition to having public printing done by contract, argues that Republican officeholders should be permitted to send their orders where they please. But the Republican Town Committee holds otherwise. That committee censured the Town Clerk for giving an order to a printing office owned by a Democrat. The Republican officeholders themselves brought about the contract system to protect themselves against such censure in the future, and the Democratic officeholders acquiesced for the economy that competition would effect. The Standard's fight for patronage is with its own party.
—————
District Attorney Noble sent a letter to the board of Supervisors asking for an increase of $500 in the salary of the Assistant District Attorney, and an increase of $350 in the salary of the clerk (his brother-in-law), on the ground of the "great increase of business." If the office is conducted during 1895 the same as during 1894, we expect that a year hence the board of Supervisors will be asked to authorize the appointment of two or three assistant district attorneys' and two or three clerks.
—The Long Island Farmer, Jamaica, NY, Jan. 11, 1895, p. 4.
Showing posts with label charity. Show all posts
Showing posts with label charity. Show all posts
Sunday, May 11, 2008
Monday, May 5, 2008
The Children's Home
New York, 1895
AN INSTITUTION THAT WELL DESERVES POPULAR SUPPORT.
Some interesting Facts and Figures Culled from the Annual Report of the Board of Managers and the Several Committees.
The managers of the Children's Home at Mineola have issued their ninth report from THE FARMER press. The Home was established in 1885, and since then it has supported and educated 303 children. For many of these homes were secured in families. There are 63 children in the Home now, 37 being girls. Twenty-seven children were received at the Home during the year and 18 left it. There have been no deaths, nor any serious illness. The report says:
"Miss C. A. Rogers continues in charge as matron, ably assisted by Miss Dodge, Miss Hyatt, Mrs. Willis, Mrs. Blankmeyer and Miss Childs. Her careful management is apparent in every department of the Home, her influence is exerted to overcome the evil tendencies of the children under her care, and to train them for usefulness in the future. There are many discouragements ever at hand, but the feeling that this is "missionary" work gives her fresh courage for daily duties.
"Children are received between the ages of four and fourteen. Long Island City sends 11; Newtown, 17; Flushing, 8; Jamaica, 9; Hempstead, 7; North Hempstead, 6; Oyster Bay, 3, and Brooklyn, 2. Most of these children are sent by the overseers of the poor, who are responsible for their board. Private parties have also supported several children, among them being Mrs. E. D. Morgan, Mrs. J. Howland Leavitt, the G. A. R. Post of Hempstead and Miss Louise Skidmore, of Great Neck. Mr. P. J. A. Harper continues his yearly contribution of one hundred dollars. This endows a bed in the girl's dormitory.
The House Committee, with Mrs. C. D. Leverich as chairman, reports that many donations have been received during the year. Mrs. Seaman L. Pettit sent a bed room suit of oak, with springs and mattress, also that Mrs. Timothy Tredwell sent a suit of oak bed room furniture with springs and mattress, also toilet set and carpet. These acceptable donations furnish two of the rooms in the new hospital wing. Mrs. Leverich also reports that Miss Riddell and her brother, Mr. Warren Cruikshank, have furnished completely one of the large rooms in the new wing, with furniture suitable for very small children, to be known as the "White Room" or "Memorial Room," in memory of their mother, Mrs. James Cruikshank. The room is furnished with white cribs, Miss Riddell and her brother supplying all the needs, who will renew them as occasion requires, taking this room as their special charge.
The Supply Committee, through Mrs. Seaman L. Pettit, chairman, reports that the household supplies have been purchased with care, also that many donations have been received. A number of the exhibitors at the Queens County Fair, at its close sent their vegetables, etc. to the Home, which were gladly received. Mr. Edward Willets and Mrs. O. L. Jones have sent their annual wagon load of vegetables, fruit, etc. Also many other friends have contributed.
The Clothing Committee, through Miss Anna Willets, chairman, reports that a goodly amount of sewing has been accomplished in the sewing room at the Home, under the supervision of Mrs. Willis — 700 garments in all. Many garments have also been sent in. The King's Daughters of Jamaica, of Kidders, of Flushing, and of Manhasset, also the sewing societies of Westbury, East Williston, Jericho and Astoria have remembered the Home, The Flushing employment society kindly offered to take 500 garments and return them finished to the Home. The offer was accepted with thanks, and the work was returned in due season.
The Instruction Committee, through Miss Riddell, chairman, reports that during the early summer Miss Lee resigned from the charge of the school. Miss Hyatt has been engaged for the coming year, who reports an average attendance of fifty-five pupils — all doing creditably and acquiring much useful knowledge. Instruction is given each day in the Memorial School House provided by Mrs. Degrauw. Besides their school duties the girls are taught house-work, the younger ones beginning with light work, dusting, making beds, washing and wiping dishes, etc., the older girls doing the work in the dining-room, sweeping, caring for lamps, etc., besides being taught in the sewing room to do plain sewing, darning, etc., and in the kitchen they are taught how to prepare vegetables, assist in the general work, and also to aid in the laundry.
The hospital wing begun last year is now completed and in use. The plans were drawn by Mr. Meade, of the firm of McKim, Mead & White, and were presented to the Home. Its dimensions are 31.6x56. Edwin Henderson, of Port Washington, was the builder. Mr. James R. Willets carefully watched the construction of the building, giving much valuable time to it. In February Mr. Willets reported that the wing was finished, and that the bills for the same had all been paid, amounting to $6,385.76, including heating apparatus."
The treasurer's report shows the receipts to have been $12,945.93.
The officers of the Home are: President, Mrs. Isaac L. Moe; that vice-president, Miss Kate M. Riddell; second vice-president, Mrs. James R. Willets; secretary, Mrs. Charles J. Stewart; treasurer, Mr. James R. Willets; executive committee, Mrs. Timothy Tredwell, Chairman; Mrs. Aaron A. Degrauw, Mrs. Oliver L. Jones, Miss Anna Willets, Mrs. Isaac H. Cocks, Mrs. James E. Hillyer.
—The Long Island Farmer, Jamaica, N.Y., Jan. 11, 1895, p. 1.
AN INSTITUTION THAT WELL DESERVES POPULAR SUPPORT.
Some interesting Facts and Figures Culled from the Annual Report of the Board of Managers and the Several Committees.
The managers of the Children's Home at Mineola have issued their ninth report from THE FARMER press. The Home was established in 1885, and since then it has supported and educated 303 children. For many of these homes were secured in families. There are 63 children in the Home now, 37 being girls. Twenty-seven children were received at the Home during the year and 18 left it. There have been no deaths, nor any serious illness. The report says:
"Miss C. A. Rogers continues in charge as matron, ably assisted by Miss Dodge, Miss Hyatt, Mrs. Willis, Mrs. Blankmeyer and Miss Childs. Her careful management is apparent in every department of the Home, her influence is exerted to overcome the evil tendencies of the children under her care, and to train them for usefulness in the future. There are many discouragements ever at hand, but the feeling that this is "missionary" work gives her fresh courage for daily duties.
"Children are received between the ages of four and fourteen. Long Island City sends 11; Newtown, 17; Flushing, 8; Jamaica, 9; Hempstead, 7; North Hempstead, 6; Oyster Bay, 3, and Brooklyn, 2. Most of these children are sent by the overseers of the poor, who are responsible for their board. Private parties have also supported several children, among them being Mrs. E. D. Morgan, Mrs. J. Howland Leavitt, the G. A. R. Post of Hempstead and Miss Louise Skidmore, of Great Neck. Mr. P. J. A. Harper continues his yearly contribution of one hundred dollars. This endows a bed in the girl's dormitory.
The House Committee, with Mrs. C. D. Leverich as chairman, reports that many donations have been received during the year. Mrs. Seaman L. Pettit sent a bed room suit of oak, with springs and mattress, also that Mrs. Timothy Tredwell sent a suit of oak bed room furniture with springs and mattress, also toilet set and carpet. These acceptable donations furnish two of the rooms in the new hospital wing. Mrs. Leverich also reports that Miss Riddell and her brother, Mr. Warren Cruikshank, have furnished completely one of the large rooms in the new wing, with furniture suitable for very small children, to be known as the "White Room" or "Memorial Room," in memory of their mother, Mrs. James Cruikshank. The room is furnished with white cribs, Miss Riddell and her brother supplying all the needs, who will renew them as occasion requires, taking this room as their special charge.
The Supply Committee, through Mrs. Seaman L. Pettit, chairman, reports that the household supplies have been purchased with care, also that many donations have been received. A number of the exhibitors at the Queens County Fair, at its close sent their vegetables, etc. to the Home, which were gladly received. Mr. Edward Willets and Mrs. O. L. Jones have sent their annual wagon load of vegetables, fruit, etc. Also many other friends have contributed.
The Clothing Committee, through Miss Anna Willets, chairman, reports that a goodly amount of sewing has been accomplished in the sewing room at the Home, under the supervision of Mrs. Willis — 700 garments in all. Many garments have also been sent in. The King's Daughters of Jamaica, of Kidders, of Flushing, and of Manhasset, also the sewing societies of Westbury, East Williston, Jericho and Astoria have remembered the Home, The Flushing employment society kindly offered to take 500 garments and return them finished to the Home. The offer was accepted with thanks, and the work was returned in due season.
The Instruction Committee, through Miss Riddell, chairman, reports that during the early summer Miss Lee resigned from the charge of the school. Miss Hyatt has been engaged for the coming year, who reports an average attendance of fifty-five pupils — all doing creditably and acquiring much useful knowledge. Instruction is given each day in the Memorial School House provided by Mrs. Degrauw. Besides their school duties the girls are taught house-work, the younger ones beginning with light work, dusting, making beds, washing and wiping dishes, etc., the older girls doing the work in the dining-room, sweeping, caring for lamps, etc., besides being taught in the sewing room to do plain sewing, darning, etc., and in the kitchen they are taught how to prepare vegetables, assist in the general work, and also to aid in the laundry.
The hospital wing begun last year is now completed and in use. The plans were drawn by Mr. Meade, of the firm of McKim, Mead & White, and were presented to the Home. Its dimensions are 31.6x56. Edwin Henderson, of Port Washington, was the builder. Mr. James R. Willets carefully watched the construction of the building, giving much valuable time to it. In February Mr. Willets reported that the wing was finished, and that the bills for the same had all been paid, amounting to $6,385.76, including heating apparatus."
The treasurer's report shows the receipts to have been $12,945.93.
The officers of the Home are: President, Mrs. Isaac L. Moe; that vice-president, Miss Kate M. Riddell; second vice-president, Mrs. James R. Willets; secretary, Mrs. Charles J. Stewart; treasurer, Mr. James R. Willets; executive committee, Mrs. Timothy Tredwell, Chairman; Mrs. Aaron A. Degrauw, Mrs. Oliver L. Jones, Miss Anna Willets, Mrs. Isaac H. Cocks, Mrs. James E. Hillyer.
—The Long Island Farmer, Jamaica, N.Y., Jan. 11, 1895, p. 1.
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)